Homefront Wargame Center

…supporting our hobby!

Down in Flames series (DVG)

Game
Type:
Card Based wargame system (Historical wargame, air combat)
Scale: Skirmish
Era: World War II (+ post-war modules available)
Theater: ETO and PTO
Publisher: DVG (first in 2008)
HFC Game-O-Meter: D
Players: 1-6 (2 recommended)

Reviews
Articles
Stuff
AARs
Links

Bullets not marked with (HFC) are external links!


Game Facts:

Publisher: DVG (2008: Aces High, 2010: Guns Blazing)
Level: Skirmish
Era: World War II
Topic: Air Combat in WWII (ETO / PTO)
Game Type: Card based wargame system. 2 game modes: dogfights (fighters vs. fighters), campaign game (fighters, bombers, historical objectives)
Game Design: Dan Verssen
Number of Players: 1-8 (dogfights), 2 (campaign)
Modules: Aces High (2008), Guns Blazing (2010), smaller expansions (aircraft extra decks, card sheets)
Unit Scale: Single aircraft (fighters, bombers). Single pilots.

Reviews

Articles

Rules and Stuff

AARs

Links

13 Responses to “Down in Flames series (DVG)”

  1. Joe Librandi said

    Thanks, Andreas. I posted my questions on boardgamegeek and DVG support and never received answers. I’ll give CSW a try.

  2. Joe Librandi said

    Thanks for helping me get an answer to my question.

    It’s not totally clear in the rules that an engaged fighter can only take actions against the engaging fighter.

    • you are welcome. And here is Dans answer for your question:

      When bursts are fired and cancelled by the reacting player, do the bursts still count against your limit?

      “Yes, cancelled bursts still count”

      Happy Gaming 🙂

      • Joe Librandi said

        Since I haven’t gotten a response from DVG, maybe you can help me with this:

        Based on the previous answer, if an engaged fighter can only play cards against the fighter engaging it, does this mean that in a campaign mission an engaged fighter can’t play cards against a bomber?

        Thanks.

        • I don’t know why you don’t get answers by Dan/DVG – from my experience he is a very helpful guy and if you ask him over at CSW in the DVG folder, I’m sure he won’t ignore you (I see that you are a CSW member) 🙂
          Anyway regarding your question: I remember that was asked a good while ago and it is one of the differences between the classic/GMT version (which we play) and the new DVG edition of DiF, so IIRC you can fire at any enemy at your altitide and you are only limited if you are Advantaged/Tailing, because that would mean you must fire at that enemy.

          If you want to be sure if that is still the case in the current rules then I would suggest to ask Dan in the DVG folder.

          Happy Gaming!

  3. Joe Librandi said

    Thanks. I’ve tried DVG and boardgamegeek for assistance with no luck.

    • Joe,

      if it is not that much of a hassle always try to answer with your logged in account and then reply via the ‘reply’ button please otherwise this will look like a mess 😉

      And I’m pretty sure that we will get an answer about this… 🙂

      Thanks for visiting our site!

      • Hi Joe,

        we have an answer by Dan Verssen now regarding your game situation:

        “Fighter A can only play cards against B. Once fighter A is neutral, it could then play cards against any enemy.”

  4. Anonymous said

    This was our situation. I had fighters B and D, my opponent had A and C:

    Fighter A tailed by fighter B tailed by fighter C tailed by fighter D. It’s fighter A’s turn. Fighter A plays maneuver 2 on fighter D so B would have to follow A, C would have to follow B, and D would have to follow C.

    The situation ends the same way as it began.

    The only way tailed fighter (A) can lose the fighter that’s tailing (B) is if it plays a barrel roll or vertical roll tactic card and goes from tailed/disadvantaged to neutral/advantaged, or successfully maneuvers against B. Otherwise, the tailing (or advantaged) fighter retains it’s position.

    But if fighter A maneuvers on D, all other fighters would have to retain their positions.

    If the rules stated that an engaged fighter can only maneuver against the fighter that’s engaging it, A would only be able to become advantaged against B since the tailed position of B is occupied by C.

    But the rules don’t say this, so I’m assuming A can maneuver against D, which is causing my confusion.

    This situation actually happened in my game and we didn’t know what to do.

  5. Anonymous said

    DVGs Down InFLame- Guns Blazing.

  6. Joe Librandi said

    1) When bursts are fired and cancelled by the reacting player, do the bursts still count against your limit?

    2) If four fighters are alternately tailing each other, can the first fighter in the chain maneuver against the last fighter in the chain? If allowed to do so, the chain would be broken, but I don’t see it prohibited in the rules.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: